SLATEMEN – Debut Album

SLATEMEN – Debut Album

SLATEMEN – emanating from the slate quarries of Snowdonia, Hywel Griff (ex-Howl Griff, guitars, bass and vocals), Frank Naughton (ex-RocketGoldStar, keys and string arrangements, bass) and Tim Robinson (drums) set off to Cardiff to record at Frank’s Tŷ Drwg Studio, Grangetown, Cardiff and Hywel Griff’s Seindon Studio, also in Cardiff.

Howl Griff received airplay on BBC 6Music (Lauren Laverne, Gideon Coe) and had a BBC Radio Wales single of the week.  Howl Griff are taking a hiatus giving Hywel Griff the opportunity to work with Frank Naughton again.  Frank himself was a part of the Cardiff art rock band RocketGoldStar, who had a BBC Maida Vale session in 2001.

Working on the songs through the latter part of 2017 – they were bound by a shared appreciation of 80s/90s computer games, progressive rock, 60s/70s psych, Scott Walker, soul music and surf guitar rock’n’roll.  The album was produced by Frank Naughton and the songs were all written by Hywel Griff.  Some of the songs were written in London, while HG was living near Brixton.  Moving back home to Wales and living in Dinorwig, Snowdonia, new songs began to emerge with a different vibe to the London songs.  This is apparent on the album.

Frank Naughton and Tim Robinson also play in Welsh music legend Geraint Jarman’s band.

Adam Walton, BBC Radio Wales DJ played Megaton Chase on his 3rd March 2018 show and called it ‘Bloody Magic!’.

Record label:  Hywel Griff’s very own CatDog Records (digital, CD and possibly small vinyl run)

Release dates:

Megaton Chase (single) – May 4th, 2018

SLATEMEN (LP) – August 31sth, 2018